Pectin vs. Gelatin: What’s in Your Gummy?

By Rolling Up

There are many variations of edibles to choose from and gummies are one of the options. It’s been said that gelatin was made out of horse hooves for the longest time, but that is far beyond the truth. Gelatin is a protein that is made by boiling skin, tendons, and bones from cows and pigs. In today’s products, pigs are the main source for gelatin. If you’re vegan, you may want to opt for pectin, which is a vegan ingredient used to create the same effect. Pectin comes directly from citrus fruits, which is a bit more appetizing and appealing. It’s made with real fruits such as apples, apricots, cherries, oranges, and citrus peels. The next time you’re buying gummies look at the ingredients. It’s something you might not have thought about before.

Leave a comment